The Faithful Pacesetters

Learning leadership from those who led in the Bible

False Words…Secrets…Gossip…

Bible Character:  Isaiah (Prophet)

The ruthless will vanish, the mockers will disappear, and all who have an eye for evil will be cut down.  Those who with a word make a man out to be guilty, who ensnare the defender in court with a false testimony deprive the innocent of justice. Isaiah 29:20-21 NIV

Trust

I will be the first to admit that I sometimes gossip about others. I wish I wouldn’t, and I try my hardest to refrain from the practice.  Sometimes, people gossip to me about others and it makes me wonder if they also gossip about me when I am not present.  Can I trust them?

Trust is so vital for successful organizations and someone that continually gossips does not get entrusted with important information.

Low Morale

The morale of an organization can be fragile at times.  How much harder is it to keep morale high when you have associates who delight in speaking negatively about others, just so they can informally prop themselves up higher?  How demotivating is it when individuals who tell false words about others are promoted to higher positions? Especially if they have spoken on false pretenses.

Do the Opposite

The personal gratification that comes from gossiping does not outweigh the negative consequences of the slander.  A leader’s actions filter down through the organization and become the standard in which others model their behavior.  While there are times when leaders need to speak critical words, these situations still require a respectful tone.  Just imagine the person is in the room with you, and it will keep the tone from becoming slanderous.

Isaiah warned the Israelites this type of behavior would destroy them; it’s no different for our organizations.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “False Words…Secrets…Gossip…

  1. Ernie Miller on said:

    Good points Jeff, Isaiah summed up his thoughts with:
    Isaiah 6:5
    Then I said:
    Woe is me for I am ruined
    because I am a man of unclean lips
    and live among a people of unclean lips,
    and because my eyes have seen the King,
    the Lord of Hosts.

  2. Ernie,

    Thanks for the follow up verse, very good.

    Jeff

  3. Nice post. I found your blog on faithful bloggers blog directory, as I have the habit of visiting and finding new blogs from such directories.
    please can you add the Scripture ‘a gossip betrays confidence” (it is somewhere in Proverbs, not sure of the chapter and verse). I think it gives an insight as to why we can’t or should not trust people who gossip.
    I love your blog. I hope to return again.

  4. Grace,
    Thanks for the kind words! Great verse in Proverbs: Proverbs 11:13
    A gossip betrays a confidence, but a trustworthy person keeps a secret.

    And another one 🙂

    19He who goes about as a slanderer reveals secrets, Therefore do not associate with a gossip.

Leave a Reply

