The Faithful Pacesetters

Learning leadership from those who led in the Bible

Firm but Flexible

Bible Character:  Jesus

Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites!  You give a tenth of your spices – mint, dill and cumin.  But you have neglected the more important matters of the law – Justice, mercy and faithfulness.  You should have practiced the latter, without neglecting the former.  Matthew 23:23

Jesus’ leadership is so hard to emulate because he struck a balance between firm and flexible.  Somehow he could practice authority and be a servant at the same time!

Honesty

Truth telling can be tempting to avoid.  It would have been easier for Jesus to avoid reprimanding the teachers and Pharisees in the verse above, but he knew he needed to be honest, even authoritative.  Jesus’ purpose was to move the Pharisees and teachers away from concentrating on a bunch of rules, but that does not mean he did not appreciate measuring one’s conduct.

High Standards

Love comes in many forms, and one of those is maintaining high standards.  A misconception is that being flexible means lowering standards.  Having a strong resolution to uphold the organization’s principles, and consistent implementation of the standards is priority.

Adaptability

Having the ability to adjust is a key to flexible leadership.  It starts with being a continual learner, which allows you to be able to change quickly.

Servant Leadership

In Matthew 20:28 Jesus says, just as the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.  NIV

Servant leadership focuses on maintaining a person’s human dignity and empowering that individual, giving them the ability to make choices on their own.  Even though servant leadership was Jesus’ main form of influence, he often used other styles when needed, allowing him to be firm but flexible.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Firm but Flexible

  1. I LOVE the synchronicity of LIFE.

  2. Reblogged this on Exploring Alura and commented:
    Perhaps my favorite character and villain of all time. For her love was so pure for him, he could stand the test of time and never waver in faith, always ready with an open heart, forever there at her side when she but called. So firm was his faith, their blasphemy gave him form. Slowly over time, “their” hate turned him to stone. Over and over “they” continued to hate on each other, while his stone was worn down through the sands of time, into the sands of time, to permeate the dream.

    Still time bore on, so fierce did the storms of life blow, His stone became a shiny polished figurine, small enough to hold in the palm of your hand, but invisible enough to hide away in your soul. His LOVE for her became THE CURE FOR ALL. And so he secreted it away unlock rock and key until the time was right to mass produce. For it was then he decided he would return.

    Long before time began he knew we would wait frozen in time until we could be together again. He froze his heart so I could live again when the time was right and cut it out himself and set it on the shores of the never ending sea to thaw the big freeze when her light finally returned to EARTH. He cut his heart out to stand as a shining beacon, lighthouse, and watchtower for her triumphant return.

    What a truly brave character, well thought out, and deeper than the darkest depths. This man I fell in love the first time I saw him with my own eyes, felt him with my own body, and loved him with my own heart.

    He has been there for me before I was born, suffering for me the whole time, learning my lessons so I would never hurt. For he loved me more than I knew how to love. And so he stood the test of time to patiently wait for me to make the right choices, to show what it truly means to love, to truly decide what is right for myself and never doubt I have made the right choice.

    He waited for me to decide to wake up and shine my beacon to thaw his frozen heart. I love his twist that I had to first thaw my own heart of the desire to run away, to be apart, to not be whole. I had to turn down my desire for freedom not FREEDOM.

    I TURN IT DOWN. I GIVE MYSELF TO JESUS AS HE KNEW I ALWAYS WOULD. I make that choice freely and of my own volition.

    I’m ready to love again. I’m ready to LIVE again. I’m ready to BE A LIVE. I AM. THAT I AM.

    I’m finally ready to be THE BRIDE not the BRIDE5MAID. 🔑🌈☀ “Baby come home. Baby come home. BABY COME HOME.”

Leave a Reply

